Please make sure you read Rules! and DO NOT upload/post any illegal softwares or Pirated Material , Thank you for understanding :)
  1. Martech

  2. ATM - Balkan

    atm balkan file service
  3. Porsche piwis

  4. MOD FILES

  5. ProCarDiag

  6. ECU CHIPS



Post Reply 
ICOM A1 & A2 & NEXT Quality (NEW PCB PICTURES!)
10-02-2014, 20:28 PM (This post was last modified: 13-09-2017 18:10 PM by JarsaR.)
Post: #1
ICOM A1 & A2 & NEXT Quality (NEW PCB PICTURES!)
Hey,

i have been scrolling the internet few weeks now,
looking for high quality Icom A2 (B+C). I would like to have the wifi model,
Has anybody some good source for them? I am new to BMW diagnostic overall, so any help will be greatly appreciated. smile
Im thinking of spending 600$ is that enough to get HQ one?

Thanks,

-JarsaR.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: zfrepairtm
10-02-2014, 21:14 PM
Post: #2
XZBMW RE: HQ ICOM A2?
(10-02-2014 20:28 PM)JarsaR Wrote:  Hey,

i have been scrolling the internet few weeks now,
looking for high quality Icom A2 (B+C). I would like to have the wifi model,
Has anybody some good source for them? I am new to BMW diagnostic overall, so any help will be greatly appreciated. smile
Im thinking of spending 600$ is that enough to get HQ one?

Thanks,

-JarsaR.

Just FYI, chinese clones for USD600 will do not have Wifi card inside, for sure! hiddentmi

You'll be lucky one if you got unit with installed passive cooler plate and with soldered mini PCI header for wifi card. happy

Also for that price you probably can't afford newer versions of ISTA D/P on native preinstalled HDD for Dell or Lenovo. callme

But it is just my five cents,

Regards! enjoy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: JarsaR
11-02-2014, 06:05 AM (This post was last modified: 10-03-2014 16:51 PM by volavka.)
Post: #3
RE: HQ ICOM A2?
(10-02-2014 21:14 PM)baner Wrote:  Just FYI, chinese clones for USD600 will do not have Wifi card inside, for sure! hiddentmi

You'll be lucky one if you got unit with installed passive cooler plate and with soldered mini PCI header for wifi card. happy

Also for that price you probably can't afford newer versions of ISTA D/P on native preinstalled HDD for Dell or Lenovo. callme

But it is just my five cents,

Regards! enjoy

Ok,

So how many cash are we looking, if i get the wifi, and where to seek..?
I think im going to try Rheingold native, with the help of the forum of course. nerd

Edit. I have done more searching, and i think i found supplier for HQ icom,
Almost 1000Usd. Well, maybe they also start coming down near future.
smirk
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-03-2014, 19:45 PM
Post: #4
RE: ICOM A2 Quality (PCB PICTURES!)
Opened up Icom A2 today, must say not too impressed for 950$. sweating
How does it look to professionals? Should there be aluminium heat sink?
And what about the big slot seen in pictures? Any info is helpful. drive


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
           
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: McMihai , zfrepairtm
08-03-2014, 02:16 AM
Post: #5
RE: ICOM A2 Quality (PCB PICTURES!)
(04-03-2014 19:45 PM)JarsaR Wrote:  Opened up Icom A2 today, must say not too impressed for 950$. sweating
How does it look to professionals? Should there be aluminium heat sink?
And what about the big slot seen in pictures? Any info is helpful. drive

Hmmm, as I told you before, this is NOT HQ CLONE, and its not worth 950 USD. worried

That slot is for MINI PCI WIFI card (IN HQ clone it will be filled with wifi Atheros Wifi Card). talking

And you dont have any cooling pads attached to main MCU, so you DONT HAVE ANY COOLING, it's not good at all. sweating

BTW for wifi support you must reflash your clone A2 with proper firmware,
most of chinese clones have "shorted" version of firmware (from old ICOM A versions) without support for wifi. worried

Regards! enjoy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: bawareca , JarsaR , McMihai , Inspector_Gadget
08-03-2014, 16:06 PM (This post was last modified: 10-03-2014 16:52 PM by volavka.)
Post: #6
RE: ICOM A2 Quality (PCB PICTURES!)
(08-03-2014 02:16 AM)baner Wrote:  Hmmm, as I told you before, this is NOT HQ CLONE, and its not worth 950 USD. worried

That slot is for MINI PCI WIFI card (IN HQ clone it will be filled with wifi Atheros Wifi Card). talking

And you dont have any cooling pads attached to main MCU, so you DONT HAVE ANY COOLING, it's not good at all. sweating

BTW for wifi support you must reflash your clone A2 with proper firmware,
most of chinese clones have "shorted" version of firmware (from old ICOM A versions) without support for wifi. worried

Regards! enjoy

Thanks,

Happen to have picture of the cooling pads and how they are installed?emo
Im not too worried about the wifi, maybe ill get card later and try it out. nod I already flashed the newest firmware (3.10.44), that went smooth.
It is frustrating, that the sellers dont know shiat about what theyre selling. I buyed that from Ecutool company, I luckily still have buyers protection from Aliexpress many days left, maybe ill ask Ecutool to refund me few dollars. rofl
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: bawareca
15-03-2014, 19:45 PM (This post was last modified: 09-05-2014 16:28 PM by volavka.)
Post: #7
RE: ICOM A2 Quality (PCB PICTURES!)
Here is the new aluminium heatsink, Milled from the place, where processor contacts the aluminium, and between them is a layer of heat dissipating zinc paste.

[Image: 352gs50.jpg]

Snug fit, to help heat radiate to aluminium shell.

[Image: 2wdx8hw.jpg]

Should stabilize the temperature now while programming.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: bawareca , kaizer_soze , wizz97 , gyorfi2013 , zfrepairtm , zalimhan74
05-05-2014, 21:18 PM
Post: #8
RE: ICOM A2 Quality (PCB PICTURES!)
When I read this, I have the feeling it is more luck to get a HQ clone.
Think about to buy me a ICOM A2, maybe i will order the cheapest that i can found. Better not invest a lot of money and still get only the same simple clone as I would spend significantly more.

Anyone knows the "new" ICOM A3, the currently are offered by some Chinese sellers?
Looks to me after a stripped A2.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-05-2014, 10:46 AM
Post: #9
RE: ICOM A2 Quality (PCB PICTURES!)
(05-05-2014 21:18 PM)Hippe Wrote:  When I read this, I have the feeling it is more luck to get a HQ clone.
Think about to buy me a ICOM A2, maybe i will order the cheapest that i can found. Better not invest a lot of money and still get only the same simple clone as I would spend significantly more.

Anyone knows the "new" ICOM A3, the currently are offered by some Chinese sellers?
Looks to me after a stripped A2.


I Think the main reason for icom A3 From china , is that they claim it can resume programming where left off during interruption. NOT Quality.

Smetimes from china, you buy icom A2 But really you get icom A1 in A2 Box, ithink this will be the same with A3 you will get A1 in many many cases.

when buying from china, RESEACH is the MAIN thing, NOT TO RUSH AND BUY.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: bawareca , Hippe
06-05-2014, 14:12 PM
Post: #10
RE: ICOM A2 Quality (PCB PICTURES!)
^^^That is why I buy A1 still-it is cheap and I know it works.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: Inspector_Gadget , amstel , JarsaR
Post Reply 


Bookmarks

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Icom A3 clone with wifi in smercki 5 340 21-09-2017 02:44 AM
Last Post: mr_nitroz
XZBMW Problem with Ista P + ICOM A2 in Cowboy 3 289 18-09-2017 07:27 AM
Last Post: atomantmk
XZBMW Question about ICOM Next B in diagnosiks 3 199 16-09-2017 11:04 AM
Last Post: Node
  ICOM NEXT Error in bmwcare 2 311 12-09-2017 13:39 PM
Last Post: bmwcare
  Ista-P not connect to ICOM in autoraedarum 14 891 04-09-2017 20:17 PM
Last Post: willisodhiambo
  BMW ISPI ICOM-FW 03-15-00 in jonny81 17 2,244 03-09-2017 16:12 PM
Last Post: snypertje
XZBMW BMW ISPI ICOM-FW 03-15-02 (UNPROTECTED) in aknight720 11 1,195 31-08-2017 12:25 PM
Last Post: cryptocar
XZBMW BMW ISPI ICOM-FW 03-15-00 (UNPROTECTED) in aknight720 20 4,409 25-08-2017 18:14 PM
Last Post: aknight720
XZBMW NFS CONNEXION PROBLEM WITH ICOM in ipcsr76 4 204 17-08-2017 07:56 AM
Last Post: BaggieMatt
XZBMW Icom A2 clone D-Can problem in jararak 1 192 15-08-2017 20:16 PM
Last Post: MaxBmw

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Return to TopReturn to Content