Please Make Sure You Read The Forum Rules! , Thanks for registering We are glad you have chosen to be a part of our community :) Please do not use email addresses, website URLs, Skype info, or any other contact info as your Username.
  1. ObdToolUsa

  2. Martech

  3. obdresource

    obdresource.com
  4. Piwis tester II

  5. OBD Center

  6. ChiPTuninG



Post Reply 
ICOM A1 & A2 Quality (NEW PCB PICTURES!)
10-02-2014, 20:28 PM
Post: #1
ICOM A1 & A2 Quality (NEW PCB PICTURES!)
Hey,

i have been scrolling the internet few weeks now,
looking for high quality Icom A2 (B+C). I would like to have the wifi model,
Has anybody some good source for them? I am new to BMW diagnostic overall, so any help will be greatly appreciated. smile
Im thinking of spending 600$ is that enough to get HQ one?

Thanks,

-JarsaR.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-02-2014, 21:14 PM
Post: #2
XZBMW RE: HQ ICOM A2?
(10-02-2014 20:28 PM)JarsaR Wrote:  Hey,

i have been scrolling the internet few weeks now,
looking for high quality Icom A2 (B+C). I would like to have the wifi model,
Has anybody some good source for them? I am new to BMW diagnostic overall, so any help will be greatly appreciated. smile
Im thinking of spending 600$ is that enough to get HQ one?

Thanks,

-JarsaR.

Just FYI, chinese clones for USD600 will do not have Wifi card inside, for sure! hiddentmi

You'll be lucky one if you got unit with installed passive cooler plate and with soldered mini PCI header for wifi card. happy

Also for that price you probably can't afford newer versions of ISTA D/P on native preinstalled HDD for Dell or Lenovo. callme

But it is just my five cents,

Regards! enjoy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: JarsaR
11-02-2014, 06:05 AM (This post was last modified: 10-03-2014 16:51 PM by volavka.)
Post: #3
RE: HQ ICOM A2?
(10-02-2014 21:14 PM)baner Wrote:  Just FYI, chinese clones for USD600 will do not have Wifi card inside, for sure! hiddentmi

You'll be lucky one if you got unit with installed passive cooler plate and with soldered mini PCI header for wifi card. happy

Also for that price you probably can't afford newer versions of ISTA D/P on native preinstalled HDD for Dell or Lenovo. callme

But it is just my five cents,

Regards! enjoy

Ok,

So how many cash are we looking, if i get the wifi, and where to seek..?
I think im going to try Rheingold native, with the help of the forum of course. nerd

Edit. I have done more searching, and i think i found supplier for HQ icom,
Almost 1000Usd. Well, maybe they also start coming down near future.
smirk
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-03-2014, 19:45 PM
Post: #4
RE: ICOM A2 Quality (PCB PICTURES!)
Opened up Icom A2 today, must say not too impressed for 950$. sweating
How does it look to professionals? Should there be aluminium heat sink?
And what about the big slot seen in pictures? Any info is helpful. drive


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
           
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: McMihai
08-03-2014, 02:16 AM
Post: #5
RE: ICOM A2 Quality (PCB PICTURES!)
(04-03-2014 19:45 PM)JarsaR Wrote:  Opened up Icom A2 today, must say not too impressed for 950$. sweating
How does it look to professionals? Should there be aluminium heat sink?
And what about the big slot seen in pictures? Any info is helpful. drive

Hmmm, as I told you before, this is NOT HQ CLONE, and its not worth 950 USD. worried

That slot is for MINI PCI WIFI card (IN HQ clone it will be filled with wifi Atheros Wifi Card). talking

And you dont have any cooling pads attached to main MCU, so you DONT HAVE ANY COOLING, it's not good at all. sweating

BTW for wifi support you must reflash your clone A2 with proper firmware,
most of chinese clones have "shorted" version of firmware (from old ICOM A versions) without support for wifi. worried

Regards! enjoy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: bawareca , JarsaR , McMihai , Inspector_Gadget
08-03-2014, 16:06 PM (This post was last modified: 10-03-2014 16:52 PM by volavka.)
Post: #6
RE: ICOM A2 Quality (PCB PICTURES!)
(08-03-2014 02:16 AM)baner Wrote:  Hmmm, as I told you before, this is NOT HQ CLONE, and its not worth 950 USD. worried

That slot is for MINI PCI WIFI card (IN HQ clone it will be filled with wifi Atheros Wifi Card). talking

And you dont have any cooling pads attached to main MCU, so you DONT HAVE ANY COOLING, it's not good at all. sweating

BTW for wifi support you must reflash your clone A2 with proper firmware,
most of chinese clones have "shorted" version of firmware (from old ICOM A versions) without support for wifi. worried

Regards! enjoy

Thanks,

Happen to have picture of the cooling pads and how they are installed?emo
Im not too worried about the wifi, maybe ill get card later and try it out. nod I already flashed the newest firmware (3.10.44), that went smooth.
It is frustrating, that the sellers dont know shiat about what theyre selling. I buyed that from Ecutool company, I luckily still have buyers protection from Aliexpress many days left, maybe ill ask Ecutool to refund me few dollars. rofl
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: bawareca
15-03-2014, 19:45 PM (This post was last modified: 09-05-2014 16:28 PM by volavka.)
Post: #7
RE: ICOM A2 Quality (PCB PICTURES!)
Here is the new aluminium heatsink, Milled from the place, where processor contacts the aluminium, and between them is a layer of heat dissipating zinc paste.

[Image: 352gs50.jpg]

Snug fit, to help heat radiate to aluminium shell.

[Image: 2wdx8hw.jpg]

Should stabilize the temperature now while programming.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: bawareca , kaizer_soze , wizz97 , gyorfi2013
05-05-2014, 21:18 PM
Post: #8
RE: ICOM A2 Quality (PCB PICTURES!)
When I read this, I have the feeling it is more luck to get a HQ clone.
Think about to buy me a ICOM A2, maybe i will order the cheapest that i can found. Better not invest a lot of money and still get only the same simple clone as I would spend significantly more.

Anyone knows the "new" ICOM A3, the currently are offered by some Chinese sellers?
Looks to me after a stripped A2.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-05-2014, 10:46 AM
Post: #9
RE: ICOM A2 Quality (PCB PICTURES!)
(05-05-2014 21:18 PM)Hippe Wrote:  When I read this, I have the feeling it is more luck to get a HQ clone.
Think about to buy me a ICOM A2, maybe i will order the cheapest that i can found. Better not invest a lot of money and still get only the same simple clone as I would spend significantly more.

Anyone knows the "new" ICOM A3, the currently are offered by some Chinese sellers?
Looks to me after a stripped A2.


I Think the main reason for icom A3 From china , is that they claim it can resume programming where left off during interruption. NOT Quality.

Smetimes from china, you buy icom A2 But really you get icom A1 in A2 Box, ithink this will be the same with A3 you will get A1 in many many cases.

when buying from china, RESEACH is the MAIN thing, NOT TO RUSH AND BUY.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: bawareca , Hippe
06-05-2014, 14:12 PM
Post: #10
RE: ICOM A2 Quality (PCB PICTURES!)
^^^That is why I buy A1 still-it is cheap and I know it works.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: Inspector_Gadget , amstel , JarsaR
Post Reply 


Bookmarks

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
XZBMW Icom next clone in pica14 3 364 02-02-2017 14:11 PM
Last Post: nguyennhatquang
  ICOM NEXT KL Problem in bmwcare 8 527 19-01-2017 19:31 PM
Last Post: SCOTT
  Icom A2 led system flash green and Off in scorpium59 2 467 14-01-2017 11:18 AM
Last Post: scorpium59
XZBMW Problem with KL15 in ICOM A1 in m35i 7 2,132 10-01-2017 15:01 PM
Last Post: bmwcare
XZBMW Icom A2 KL 15 =0 V in baba 11 1,747 19-12-2016 00:22 AM
Last Post: CATAHA
XZBMW Original ICOM with cracked software in valifilioreanu 1 423 15-12-2016 17:44 PM
Last Post: snypertje
XZBMW HOW to set BMW ICOM A2 WIFI in xcar360 0 296 06-12-2016 10:26 AM
Last Post: xcar360
XZBMW BMW ICOM A2 - Build power supply with OBD connector? in Loliceman 4 427 30-11-2016 07:24 AM
Last Post: brunofraga
XZBMW ICOM Wireless setup in Vacheron 16 3,005 29-11-2016 18:29 PM
Last Post: pdc
XZBMW New ICOM a3 in marc745i 20 6,201 25-11-2016 07:44 AM
Last Post: demoned

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Return to TopReturn to Content