Unfortunately we do not accept new members for free, Now Registration cost 30€, if you are interesting Send Email to [email protected]

Which software for what?? Im confused...
28-03-2016, 08:30 AM,
ZTAudi  Which software for what?? Im confused...
Hello

I work on BMW for years and know exactly which software is for what and how to use it but I'm new in AUDI and get a little bit confused. There is many software and version for download. Can someone please explain me what is the difference, which version is for what and which interface need for it??

VAS
VCDS
ElsaWin
ODIS
ODIS-S
ODIS Engineering

Thanks very much
Quote this message in a reply
28-03-2016, 23:44 PM,
RE: Which software for what?? Im confused...
(28-03-2016, 08:30 AM)tukan Wrote:  VAS
VCDS
ElsaWin
ODIS
ODIS-S
ODIS Engineering
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic Information System) is the actual Dealer diagnostic software. There are two different versions of it: ODIS Service (in use at every VAG Dealer-workshop) and there is ODIS Engineering. Most of the time you can do everything you want with just ODIS Service. You need the VAS5054 interface, be careful, there are lot of shitty clones out there. Good ones comes with its price (90-130 USD).
Original one isn't an option for most of us: License, montly costs, high costs buying the interface and so on. If you don't have the original interface, you can't use automatic coding function (SVM coding) and you can't flash control modules with ODIS Service (there are some exceptions). Flashing control units however is always possible in ODIS Engineering, even with the clone interface. There are some other things you can do in Engineering which you can't in Service, but that's not a big deal for you right now.
A little bit more about SVM-coding: