Unfortunately we do not accept new members for free, Now Registration cost 30€, if you are interesting Send Email to [email protected]

Software upgrade with ISTA/P
26-06-2016, 06:06 AM,
XZBMW  Software upgrade with ISTA/P
I'm new to coding/programming with ISTA/P so I have one question about vehicle I-Level upgrade.
When you do codding/programming with ISTA/P does it automatically upgrade the I-level of the vehicle in that process or there is a way to choose whether to upgrade or not?
In which case ISTA/P want's to upgrade the I-Level of vehicle?
Quote this message in a reply
26-06-2016, 08:18 AM,
RE: Software upgrade with ISTA/P
It will automatically write new I level if you program the car with ista p.
[+] 4 users say Thank You to SweetBMW for this post
26-06-2016, 17:01 PM,
This is not mine, I saw it on the internet and copied it. With that said here is some great info on I-level:

What is I-level (or Integration Level?)

The ECU's in a BMW are not meant to be updated individually, rather as a collection which BMW tested and knows all work fine together.The collective version number of all programmed ECU's is called the I-level, or Integration level (German: I-stufe). The term I-level was adopted by BMW around the year 2004 and applies only to lines which were in development/production in 2004 or after (E60, E70, E90, etc.).

The I-level is a set of numbers that looks like E89X-11-09-410. The first part represents the chassis group, which is followed by the year and month of the release and a build number for that release. So, E89X-11-09-410 would mean an E80/E90, 09/2011, version 410.

You will often see a set of two I-levels, something like E89X-05-10-026, E89X-11-09-410. In this case the first set is called the Factory I-level, or the level with which the car left the factory, and the second the Dealer Organization I-level, or the current version programmed by the dealer.