Unfortunately we do not accept new members for free, Now Registration cost 30€, if you are interesting Send Email to [email protected]

Newbie Kess/ Ktag Questions
05-07-2018, 22:36 PM, (This post was last modified: 05-07-2018, 22:40 PM by Turbotime.)
Newbie Kess/ Ktag Questions
I am new to tuning and mostly just using slave units whilst i learn what is needed to write my own files. Have a couple questions i have been unable to find the answer to. firstly the file kess reads from the ecu is this one of the ktag files (micro processor, eeprom, flash) secondly what are these three files. I think flash file is what the kess reads as file size is the same and if so what does eeprom and microprocessor hold data wise.

If two ecus share the same hw number but different software is it possible to change the software version to that of the other ecu (maybe eeprom or microprocessor)

lastly what is blending ecu files and how is it done i assume its editing a original file to match a modifed file with different software version?

Apologises if stupid questions or answered before, I have looked for these answers

I have two 1.8t vag ecus with different maps, one was locked out to obd reading so i managed to read the data via ktag and tried to write the other ecus backup into the locked ecu, data was written successfully but car doesnt run with the ecu unfortunately. Car belongs to myself and just using spare ecu to learn on.
Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to Turbotime for this post
07-07-2018, 12:57 PM,
ZTAudi  RE: Newbie Kess/ Ktag Questions
I understand why you are asking. I didn't find clear info about this either, so I had to figure it out myself.

Using master tools, these are the files I get when reading an edc17cp44 (Tricore TC1797) in boot mode.
This ECU doesn't have external flash and EEPROM in emulated in internal TC1797 flash also.

Ktag backup:
============
filename.EPR 64 KB
filename.MCP 4,096 KB
filename 1,090 KB