1. AutoHex II

  2. FemtoEVO

  3. Cas4 & Cas4+



Connecting BMW Motorcycle to ISTA+
13-11-2019, 17:45 PM, (This post was last modified: 14-11-2019, 21:27 PM by stefankrol.)
Post: #1
XZBMW  Connecting BMW Motorcycle to ISTA+
Hello everyone,

I am having connection troubles while trying to connect ISTA+ to my 2018 BMW S1000R motorcycle.
The following version of ISTA is being used:
System 4.17.41.18245
Database 4.17.41

When I use the ICOM A2 (china) it works no problem with ISTA+ BMW/MINI setting on my BMW car. However it does not work when trying to use BMW Motorrad ISTA+ on my motorcycle.
The program simply freezes up and stops working ??? I really don't understand why.

Dr. Gini connects ok & I was able to read out modules & clear error memory.
[Image: 49060596587_9f16dc8f51_h.jpg]
[Image: 49053362377_6ff4b92825_h.jpg]


I tried the K+DCAN cable (with a switch) and ISTA+ Motorrad connects with no problem on my bike:
[Image: 49060373666_2be5bc66fc_h.jpg]

Can anyone tell me what is configured wrong with the ICOM? I have 16 pin OBD on the bike so the ICOM is directly connected to the bike (the USB D+KCAN cable also is connected directly).

Thank you in advance and I hope someone can help me with this rather strange problem.

Kind regards,
Quote this message in a reply
13-11-2019, 20:14 PM,
Post: #2
RE: Connecting BMW Motorcycle to ISTA+
With ISTA 4.15.16 I didn't have problems
Quote this message in a reply
13-11-2019, 22:06 PM, (This post was last modified: 14-11-2019, 00:11 AM by Clusters.)
Post: #3
RE: Connecting BMW Motorcycle to ISTA+
Just a quick note here, when I was using ista+ with my bike I had to change the BMW Motorrad setting back and fourth to use for car diag and bike diag ! I think also the china Icom clones have some connection issues as well..
Check this thread out :


Rule 3: Do not Post Links on the Board! External links must be attached in a notepad file.

Thanks, Admin

Like this  under


Attached Files
link.txt
File Type: .txt
Downloaded: 41 times
Size: 58 bytes


If I helped you please add *THANKS* + *REP* clapping
Quote this message in a reply
14-11-2019, 11:11 AM,
Post: #4
RE: Connecting BMW Motorcycle to ISTA+
What firmware version is your clone ICOM A2? I use firmware version 03-15-02 on my clone ICOM A2 and it connects well with ISTA+ 4.14.14 or 4.18.32 to my 2018 BMW S1000RR.

I noticed in your screenshots, ISTA is not reading K15 and K30 voltages correctly. That is very strange, as ICOM A2 should be good to read them.
Quote this message in a reply
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to AtomAnt69 for this post:
  • stefankrol
14-11-2019, 16:31 PM,
Post: #5
RE: Connecting BMW Motorcycle to ISTA+
You have to check if you adapter from the icom to the Motorcycle use the right pins.
There are wrong connection from China
I beleave that you have a Bike with the round socket 10Pin
icom Bike
1 10 kl15
4 and5 4 Masse Kl 31
6 7 Can H
7 1 K 1 BMS
8 2 K2 ABS
14 9 Can Low
16 6 Kl30

BR
Quote this message in a reply
14-11-2019, 21:14 PM, (This post was last modified: 14-11-2019, 21:31 PM by stefankrol.)
Post: #6
RE: Connecting BMW Motorcycle to ISTA+
(13-11-2019, 20:14 PM)cursor Wrote:  With ISTA 4.15.16 I didn't have problems
Good to hear the version should not cause any problem.

(13-11-2019, 22:06 PM)cclaypool16 Wrote:  Just a quick note here, when I was using ista+ with my bike I had to change the BMW Motorrad setting back and fourth to use for car diag and bike diag ! I think also the china Icom clones have some connection issues as well..
Check this thread out :


Rule 3: Do not Post Links on the Board! External links must be attached in a notepad file.

Thanks, Admin

Like this  under 
You are right I have to switch everytime I use motorrad or car ISTA. With the car selection: BMW/Mini it does not work. The Motorrad version does work but the program freezes like a icecube. It crashes while reading out the verhicle data.. I don't know why but USB->KCan cable does work ok. 
Thank you for your reply!


(14-11-2019, 11:11 AM)AtomAnt69 Wrote:  What firmware version is your clone ICOM A2? I use firmware version 03-15-02 on my clone ICOM A2 and it connects well with ISTA+ 4.14.14 or 4.18.32 to my 2018 BMW S1000RR.

I noticed in your screenshots, ISTA is not reading K15 and K30 voltages correctly. That is very strange, as ICOM A2 should be good to read them.
Exactly, Dr.Gini reads the voltage no problem and ISTA doesn't. But when I select the ICOM via the connection manager it does say the correct voltage... It is like extremely weird and I have'nt managed to figure out why the program crashes. 

But I do have to update the firmware, my package image is 03-14-03 and system image 01.25.02. The application image is 01.40.05
So I will update that tomorrow ( the version in .txt link ), Thank you very much for the help!  The Last Self test is with this result:

Peripherals Test
Ram Test  OK
Atmel Test OK
Cpld Test  OK
WLAN test OK
USB Controller test OK

Fan test:
Fan test OK
Airduct test OK
Temperature test OK

LAN Link yes
LAN Link speed 100Mbit/s

(14-11-2019, 16:31 PM)kiranabc Wrote:  You have to check if you adapter from the icom to the Motorcycle use the right pins.
There are wrong connection from China
I beleave that you have a Bike with the round socket 10Pin
icom        Bike
1 10 kl15
4 and5 4 Masse Kl 31
6 7 Can H
7 1 K 1 BMS
8 2 K2 ABS
14 9 Can Low
16 6 Kl30

BR
Thank you for your reply, the bike has normal 16 pin OBD connector. I orderd a splitter cable so i can make sure the correct wires are in the correct spot for ICOM and bike OBD. So I will come back to this later, thank you!!


Attached Files
Nieuw tekstdocument.txt
File Type: .txt
Downloaded: 19 times
Size: 52 bytes

Quote this message in a reply
15-11-2019, 09:22 AM, (This post was last modified: 15-11-2019, 09:25 AM by AtomAnt69.)
Post: #7
RE: Connecting BMW Motorcycle to ISTA+
The cable from your ICOM A2 should be standard ODB2 connector, so it would seem strange that it does not work on you S1000R, if it works on your BMW car.

Also check your ICOM A2 settings within ISTA+. I have attached the following ISTA+ screenshots that maybe of assistance to you:
 - Main BMW Motorrad screen
 - Settings (spanner icon) -> Vehicle Interface settings
 - ICOM Connect screen
 - Vehicle Service settings

As you can see with the bike ignition on, I can see the voltages (12.4V) on both KL 15 and KL 30.


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
               
Quote this message in a reply
15-11-2019, 16:43 PM, (This post was last modified: 15-11-2019, 16:45 PM by stefankrol.)
Post: #8
RE: Connecting BMW Motorcycle to ISTA+
Thank you for your reply!

I made screenshots also. They are identical to yours (note that also the voltage reading is present).
When I click set-up connection the program freezes right at the moment that the verhicle data should be going from the bike into ISTA+.
The loadingbar stops with flashing over, it just freezes up and it will not continue with anything (not responding).
[Image: 49069275868_485b09dc41_b.jpg]
[Image: 49070004312_19bb7f56d0_b.jpg]
[Image: 49069796671_c2631757dc_b.jpg]
[Image: 49070004242_2d6e847edb_b.jpg]

And if I just Dr.Gini it works with the ICOM:

[Image: 49069278493_a7b6a6a94d_b.jpg]
[Image: 49069799521_dbdeafff3c_b.jpg]
 
So.... Could the problem be in ISTA+ Motorrad?
(voltage difference does not do anything, ISTA+ doesn't go further when the bike is started)
Quote this message in a reply
15-11-2019, 17:33 PM,
Post: #9
RE: Connecting BMW Motorcycle to ISTA+
I agree with AtomAnt. Have you checked what firmware version is in your clone ICOM A2?
Quote this message in a reply
15-11-2019, 18:18 PM,
Post: #10
RE: Connecting BMW Motorcycle to ISTA+
(15-11-2019, 17:33 PM)Node Wrote:  I agree with AtomAnt. Have you checked what firmware version is in your clone ICOM A2?
Sorry I did not mention it, prior to posting the screenshots I updated to 03-15-00. Should I go to 03-15-02?
Quote this message in a reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
XZBMW ISTA Standalone v4.13.31 Sedoy 38 9,703 1 hour ago
Last Post: cummert
  Updated ISTA 4.20.12/21/31 - 4.21.12 Installation and update Files duckdonald 58 7,428 1 hour ago
Last Post: masa52
  ISTA 4.21.12 Release Information Fx82 0 61 1 hour ago
Last Post: Fx82
XZBMW Updated ISTA Standalone / SQLiteDBs / BLP / PSdZData_Lite - latest [MEGA] Sedoy 516 85,796 3 hours ago
Last Post: Sedoy
XZBMW Ultimate Ediabas/ISTA+ voltage control V3 Node 328 89,261 4 hours ago
Last Post: dachtera
XZBMW ICOMP, ICOM Next Connection problem with ISTA emaflo1978 44 2,278 Yesterday, 19:36 PM
Last Post: inspi1981
XZBMW ISTA 4.21.1x Installation files Sedoy 6 528 Yesterday, 13:20 PM
Last Post: snypertje
XZBMW How to turn off hw check in ista-d?? bmwspecialist 17 4,886 Yesterday, 13:10 PM
Last Post: yoodog
  ISTA, test nonworking old BMW and Toyota Supra J29 Sedoy 2 206 Yesterday, 12:08 PM
Last Post: Sedoy
  [NEW]  ISTA+ 4.18.32 Install Files + SDP Delta Files Smallville 39 6,310 Yesterday, 03:48 AM
Last Post: sebastianfernandes

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Return to TopReturn to Content