Unfortunately we do not accept new members for free, Now Registration cost 30€, if you are interesting Send Email to [email protected]

E90 FRM3 - Need help getting it back to 100%
22-01-2022, 15:42 PM,
XZBMW  E90 FRM3 - Need help getting it back to 100%
Hello there guys! How are you all doing?

I'm no expert, but I really enjoy working on my own car, and this forum has helped me in more ways than I can count.

I had a problem with the FRM3 module, on my E90. The car tried to start with a dead battery, which as you all know can cause the FRM to crash and become corrupted, which happened.

I have done my best to solve this without bothering anyone for help, using all the guides and posts I could find. A very good friend was kind enough to lend me a UPA v1.3 flasher, non-genuine version.

I was aware of the risks of using that flasher, but it was already bricked so I gave it a go.

I had converted the file that was in my car, using the online tool most people do. But then the fog lamps wouldn't turn on. I searched online for a dump that matched my SW and HW, eventually found one and it took a huge amount of attempts to get the flasher to write to the whole memory, but it eventually did.

From then, the fog lamps still wouldn't turn on. Went back to search more online, which made me NCS code the module, a lot of times... No success... I wrote the VO/FA, and also tried coding an empty file to force the module to program itself based on the VO.

But still guys, the car won't turn on the fog lamps, and I also get an error that it can't find the Potentiometer Dimmer. My car has the "digital dimmer", on the dashboard, and not the analog dimmer.
So, I came to the conclusion the software is for the wrong Chassis. gavelsweating

I even tried to find my way around WinKFP, but I couldn't find a Z number, got overwhelmed, and gave up for a while. angry Now I'm back on this hahahah, and I mean, there must be a way, right?